AOPT 2021 Election

Congratulations to the Newly Elected AOPT Leaders!

  • President:
    • Bob Rowe, PT, DPT, DMT, MHS, FAAOMPT
  • Director:
    • Annette Karim, PT, DPT, PhD, OCS, FAAOMPT
  • Nominating Committee Members:
    • Caroline Brunst, PT, DPT, SCS, OCS, ATC (1-year term)
    • Paul Mintken, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT (3-year term)

Learn More Below:



Dr. Bob Rowe is the Executive Director of Brooks Institute of Higher Learning located in Jacksonville, FL. Bob received his PT degree at LSUHSC in 1985 and completed his Master of Health Science in PT in 1994 at LSUHSC. He completed an Orthopaedic Manual PT Fellowship through the Ola Grimsby Institute (OGI) in 1999 and in 2001 completed his Doctor of Manual Therapy degree through the OGI. In May 2007, Bob completed his t-DPT through MGH IHP. Previously, Bob served as the Chair of the Orthopaedic Section’s Practice Committee from 2004 - 2010. He has served for 21 consecutive years as a delegate to the APTA House of Delegates including six years for the Orthopaedic Section from 2004-2010. Bob served as the President of AAOMPT from 2009 - 2014 and has served on the APTA Board of Directors since 2015. Bob is a recipient of the APTA Lucy Blair Distinguished Service Award.

Annette Karim, PT, DPT, PhD, OCS, FAAOMPT


Annette Karim, PT, DPT, PhD is an Associate Professor of Physical Therapy and the Director of the PhD in Rehabilitation and Movement Science and post-professional programs at Azusa Pacific University in Southern California. A board-certified Orthopaedic Clinical Specialist, residency graduate, and fellow of the Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists, she serves as a Manual Therapy Institute Fellowship mentor, an ACOMPTE reviewer, and as Azusa Pacific Movement and Performance Fellowship faculty. While in Texas, she served the TPTA-Southeastern District as 2nd Vice Co-Chair. She has served the AOPT for 10 years in the following roles: Performing Arts SIG research chair, PASIG President, AOPT Mentor, AOPT Nominating Committee Member, and DEI Taskforce member. A co-author of the Performing Arts Description of Fellowship Practice, she maintains a dance medicine clinical practice and research focus. She currently serves the AOPT as a Board-appointed Interim Director and Liaison to the PASIG and Animal Rehabilitation SIG.


Nominating Committee Member (1-year term):
Caroline L. Brunst, PT, DPT, SCS, OCS, ATC


I have been a clinician researcher with The Ohio State University since 2013. Through annual presentations at CSM, I was a finalist for the Excellence in Research Award in 2019 and 2021. As a dual Board Certified Specialist in orthopaedic and sports physical therapy, I serve as an item writer for the ABPTS Specialization Academy of Content Experts. At the national and state levels, I was recently elected to the APTA House of Delegates and am proud to represent the Ohio Physical Therapy Association (OPTA) as the Ohio’s Centennial Scholar - an APTA sponsored program to build a cadre of future association leaders. Additionally, I was the recipient of the 2018 OPTA Emerging Leader Award and was a 2020 graduate of the OPTA’s inaugural L.I.F.E Leadership Academy. These experiences have equipped me with the leadership and network that is vital to serve the Academy in this role.

Nominating Committee Member (3-year term):
Paul Mintken, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT


Dr. Mintken is a Professor in the Physical Therapy Program at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. He has over 50 peer-reviewed publications investigating conservative care for musculoskeletal disorders. His awards include the Gould Excellence in Teaching Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Award from the Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy (AOPT), the Baethke-Carlin Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching from the APTA, the Rose Excellence in Research Award, The JOSPT Excellence in Research Award, the Chattanooga Research Award, and the Outstanding Physical Therapist Award from the Colorado Chapter of the APTA. Dr. Mintken was a member of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Awards Committee for the Colorado Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association (COAPTA) for 5 years. He has also been a member of the Research Committee for the Orthopaedic Section of the APTA and the American Academy of Orthopedic Physical Therapists.