



# 2023 Honors & Awards AOPT Members Receiving Awards

# **Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association**

Carol Courtney, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Jane Fedorczyk, PT, MSPT, PhD, FAPTA

Marie Johanson, PT, PhD, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Robert Manske, PT, DPT, MEd, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Sports Physical Therapy

Christine McDonough, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Alison McKenzie, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

Robert Rowe, PT, DPT, DMT, MHS, FAPTA

Karin Gravare Silbernagel, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Julie Tilson, PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Pamela Unger, PT, DPT, FAPTA

Francis Welk, PT, DPT, MEd, FAPTA

# 29th John H. P. Maley Lecture Award

Philip McClure, PT, PhD, FAPTA

# Lucy Blair Service Award

Gregory Hicks, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Matthew Hyland, PT, PhD

# Marilyn Moffat Leadership Award

Sharon Dunn, PT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

#### **Societal Impact Award**

Theresa Monaco Spitznagle, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Women's Health Physical Therapy

#### **Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award**

Katie Butera, PT, DPT, PhD, for article "Low Risk for Persistent Back Pain Disability Is Characterized by Lower Pain Sensitivity and Higher Physical Performance," published in PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal, Vol. 102, No. 3.

#### Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature

Chad Cook, PT, PhD, MBA, FAPTA

#### Dorothy E. Baethke-Eleanor J. Carlin Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching

John Heick, PT, DPT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic, Orthopaedic, and Sport Physical Therapy

#### Signe Brunnström Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Leigh Langerwerf, PT, DPT

#### **Minority Initiatives Award**

Northwestern University Department of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences

#### **Outstanding Physical Therapist Fellow Award**

Joseph Derian, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

# Mary McMillan Scholarship Award

Shane Mathew, SPT, University of Florida

#### Minority Faculty Development Scholarship Award

Paula Johnson, PT, DPT, MBA

#### Minority Scholarship Award

Xavier A. Gibson, SPT, Springfield College

Isabel Lorimer, SPT, University of Colorado

Christine Rodriguez, SPT, University of Miami

# Federal Government Affairs Leadership Award

Lance Mabry, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy